Welcome‎ > ‎Announcements‎ > ‎

WalkBike Frankfort and the Folkbike ReCyclery awarded second Paula Nye Memorial Grant

posted Mar 1, 2014, 8:14 AM by Nathan Rome
WalkBike Frankfort and the Folkbike ReCyclery have been awarded a second Paula Nye Memorial Grant by the Kentucky Bicycle and Bikeway Commission.  The $7100 award was funded by the sale of Share the Road license plates and named for the late Paula Nye who served as Kentucky's Bicycle and Pedestrian coordinator for many years.
Folkbike director Stuart Harrod said that the money will be used to continue and expand safety education and community outreach efforts that began when the ReCyclery received its first Paula Nye grant in 2013. 
According to WalkBike vice-president John Rodgers, the new funds will go toward the purchase of equipment such as a pedal-powered generator that can be used to provide power for concerts and other events and the design and production of a bicycle and pedestrian-friendly map of Frankfort.
Other monies will provide education and certification for bicycle safety instructors through the League of American Bicyclists.
WalkBike Frankfort president Donna Hecker said, "We're thrilled to have this opportunity to better serve walkers and bicycle riders in our community and incredibly proud of the work that John and Stuart have done to make it possible."

Left to right:  Randy Thomas, Troy Hearn, Stuart Harrod, Nathan Rome, 
John Rodgers, Donna Hecker
Kentucky's current Bicycle and Pedestrian coordinator Troy Hearn and Randy Thomas of the Kentucky Bicycle and Bikeways Commission presented the award to members of the WalkBike board last Friday.